Finally four episodes in and I can confirm my excitement for this drama.

One of my favorite tropes in existence is friends to lovers because it has such a natural progression compared to typical meet-cutes. I can already see the beginning of their relationship blossoming at least through my shipper eyes. Their constant skinship and mutual understanding of one other is beautiful.

Part of this beauty is thanks to how natural it feels for Kim Ji Won and Park Seo Joon to be on screen together. I didn’t realize how much they would work as a pair until they convinced me within one episode. I have never had the luck of seeing Kim Ji Won is a leading role like this and people should give her more.

As a drama watcher it is also nice to see a female character have just as much strength as her male counterpart. The way Kim Ji Won dealt with those men just proves that she doesn’t need to be coddled.

Plot wise I have a general idea of what is coming up, but I love how the focus isn’t one chaebols or rich characters. The main cast of characters are from humble beginnings with dreams they seem to have forgone and it just feels so relatable to me as a twenty-something who is about to enter the job market.

For some reason I do feel uncomfortable seeing the secondary couple interact sometimes because the issues between them are so glaringly obvious. I can just see the way the man in this couple is almost embarrassed of his girlfriend even if he doesn’t mean to be.

I also have to note my dislike for the second male and female lead. The female lead (Lee Elijah) feels so shallow and one dimensional I can’t just can’t wrap my head around it while the male lead just doesn’t match up to Park Seo Joon’s character. Don’t get me wrong I am a massive fan of Choi Woo Shik, but he feels out of place in this drama. His comment of ‘men and women can’t be friends’ pretty much irked me straight off the bat.

Overall, I have high hopes for this dramas future because it is being lead by strong main characters with great chemistry.

Leave a Reply

